EELISA network


EELISA (European Engineering Learning Innovation and Science Alliance), is an international network of universities and research institutes funded by the European Commission under the European Universities programme. Nine other university institutes and research centres are part of the network (in France, Germany, Spain, Turkey, Switzerland, Romania, Hungary, and, for Italy, in addition to the Normale, the Scuola Sant'Anna).
EELISA’s acronym also pays a tribute to women engineers through the memory of Elisa Leonida Zamfirescu (1887 – 1973), one of the very first women to obtain an engineering degree in the world. She also embodied the core elements of EELISA Alliance: she had a multi-cultural and cross-border background, contributed to engineering with innovative methods for the analysis of minerals and had a determined social commitment.
EELISA aims to transform European higher education while strengthening links between engineering and society by:

  • Re-inventing the “European engineer”.
  • Democratizing engineering education.
  • Evolving interdisciplinary engineering learning.
  • Encouraging knowledge, skills and technology transfer.
  • Fostering inclusiveness and diversity.
  • Making a real impact on society following the 2030 Agenda for Sustainable Development and the SDGs.

EELISA is divided into several projects funded by the European Union and the Ministry of University and Research and represents an important opportunity, for all components and disciplinary areas of the Scuola Normale. EELISA will contribute towards:

  • Strengthening internationalization.
  • Encouraging and supporting the mobility of research staff, students, and technical-administrative staff.
  • Strengthening connections and collaborations with important European universities and research centres.
  • Ensuring access to additional funding opportunities for research activities. 

The EELISA Network 

Budapesti Műszaki és Gazdaságtudományi Egyetem

École des Ponts ParisTech

Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg

İstanbul Teknik Üniversitesi

Scuola Normale Superiore

Scuola Superiore Sant’Anna

Universitatea Politehnica din Bucureşti

Université Paris Sciences et Lettres

Universidad Politécnica de Madrid

ZHAW Zürcher Hochschule für Angewandte Wissenschaften